Who can be involved with the Student Government Association?

All registered students at Faulkner University are members of the Student Government Association (SGA) and subject to the SGA’s policies and regulations. All students are encouraged to participate in the SGA general elections, committees, activities and events.

The SGA consists of two bodies, the Student Executive Board and the Student Senate, to fulfill the goals of the SGA and address student needs, issues and concerns. The Student Executive Board consists of the six SGA officers, President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer, Parliamentarian and Chaplain, and serves as a liaison between the student body and the University administration. The positions of President, Vice-President, Secretary and Treasurer are elected by the student body, and the positions of Parliamentarian and Chaplain are appointed by the SGA President. The SGA President may also appoint Executive Assistants along with other non-voting positions on the Student Executive Board with the Student Senate’s consent. The Student Executive Board members and SGA committees represent the student body on several University administrative and academic committees.

The SGA Student Senate consists of members elected by the student body in the SGA general election. The SGA Student Senate is currently comprised of twenty (20) senators from the student body who represent the needs, concerns, issues and problems of their constituent groups to the SGA Senate and the Student Executive Board. The SGA Senate is charged with coordinating student entertainment, activities, events and other programs with the support of the Office of Student Life.

For more information contact studentlife@faulkner.edu and we will be glad to answer any questions.

Posted in: